Handheld cell use illegal when driving

Date Published: 2012-07-30

Contact: Meg Ragonese

Phone: (775) 888-7172

Title: NDOT Director Susan Martinovich Named White House Champion of Change

Story Text:

On Tuesday, July 31, 2012, the White House will honor leaders who have devoted their time and efforts to helping their communities reach new heights through transportation innovation. Transportation Innovators are individuals or organizations who have provided exemplary leadership in the growth and expansion of the transportation industry at the local, state or regional level. 


One of the honorees will be (former) NDOT Director Susan Martinovich, who will be recognized as a Champion of Change for spearheading Nevada transportation innovations such as NDOT's accelerated delivery program and vehcile miles traveled study, as well as Nevada's Zero Fatalities traffic safety goal and public education program.  


“Today’s Champions are leaders in developing and implementing innovative transportation initiatives,” said Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood.  “They are making a difference every day in their local communities and across the country by improving America’s transportation infrastructure and helping their friends and neighbors get where they need to go.”


The Champions of Change program was created as a part of President Obama’s Winning the Future initiative.  Each week, a different sector is highlighted and groups of Champions, ranging from educators to entrepreneurs to community leaders, are recognized for the work they are doing to serve and strengthen their communities.


To watch this event live, visit www.whitehouse.gov/live at 11:00 am ET on July 31st.


Susan Martinovich is the Director for the Nevada Department of Transportation, where she has worked for over 28 years.  Prior to being Director, she served as Deputy Director and Chief Engineer.  Ms. Martinovich has a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Nevada, Reno and is a licensed professional engineer in Nevada and California.  She is past President of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials and serves on the National Academy of Sciences Transportation Research Board Executive Committee, as well as many other national committees in the areas of Safety, Research and Policy Initiatives.